My Most Memorable Job Interviews

Kyle Ford
3 min readNov 17, 2023

Earlier this year I wrote about some of the weirdest work experiences I’ve had throughout my career, so I thought I’d do a bit of a sequel, this time about some job interviews that are (for a variety of reasons) forever burned into my memory. Let’s begin!

Ain’t Like Dusting Crops, Boy

I grew up in Illinois, but decided to move to Los Angeles right after graduating. I had one likely job lead that I ended up getting, but I wanted to have some backup options in case things went south.

One of these was DEN (Digital Entertainment Network). I remember feeling incredibly uncool as I entered their lobby (which featured either a giant Yoda or a giant R2-D2, the details are lost to time), and the feeling only deepened as the interviewer went through my sad little resume, clearly baffled by the fact that the majority of my web experience was limited to agriculture-related websites.

Needless to say I didn’t get the gig, but I learned very quickly that if I wanted to make it in the big city, I needed to leave the farm behind. Lesson learned, but years later I became really glad that I dodged that bullet.

Jarvis, Enhance

After leaving the wreckage of what Ning became (post-sale), I interviewed at a number of places, one of which was Oblong Industries, a company focused on…

--

--